Town of Lefkada
Information About Town
Lefkada Town: Lefkada Town is the capital of the island located at its north eastern side. It is the administrative, economic and cultural centre of Lefkada and has a population of about 8,000 inhabitants who are mostly engaged in agriculture and tourism. The capital is a small town that lies around the natural harbour. The major earthquakes that occur in 1948 and 1953 destroyed almost the entire island, and only some churches and a few historical monuments have survived.
Among the remaining monuments is the imposing fortress of Agia Maura, built in 1300 by the Franks in order to protect the island from the pirate attacks.
After the earthquakes, the capital was reconstructed, this time new houses and buildings were built with wooden skeletons and colored sheets of metal, forming an interesting and attractive architecture in order to withstand future earthquakes. Each house was built very close to the other, surrounded by narrow pedestrian alleys that create a charming and unique setting. Lefkada Town is linked to the mainland by a narrow channel. On the entrance of the harbour, a small square full of verdant trees welcomes the visitors and gives to the town a cheerful and pleasant atmosphere.
This lively part of the town offers various accommodations, cafes and shops. On the other side is the central square of the town, called Agios Spyridon, which owns its name to the 17th century church that stands on the square. Other interesting and beautiful churches can be found in the capital such as the 18th century church of Agios Nikolaos, the 17th century church of Agios Dimitrios, the 18th century church of Pantokrator and the church of the Presentation of the Virgin as well as the monastery of Panagia Faneromeni. Most of these churches house fine works from the Ionian School of Painting.
Another part of the town hat is worth-seeing is Mela Street,which is full of attractive arcades. It is also the perfect route to admire the corrugated fronts of the shops and houses. Some interesting museums are scattered around the town like the Archaeological Museum located in Faneromeni Street, which houses finds from various excavations in the archeological sites of the island, the Gramophone Museum and the Folklore Museum.
The central bus station of the island is located in Golemi Street opposite the yacht marina, on the eastern front. It offers regular services for most villages and beaches.