Peloponnese Geography

Information about the Geography of Peloponnese, in Greece: Peloponnese is the largest peninsula in Greece and constitutes the southernmost of the Greek mainland. It borders with the Aegean, Ionian Sea, Corinth Gulf, and the Mediterranean Sea. It is connected with Sterea region through a narrow sea line, the Corinth Canal. From 2004, the bridge Rio-Antirio connects Peloponnese with Sterea and the rest of the mainland.

Peloponnese consists of seven prefectures (Achaia, Ilia, Messenia, Arkadia, Lakonia, Argolida and Corinthia). Its total surface area is 21,439 square kilometers. The region of Peloponnese is the center of ancient Greek culture and it has been inhabited since the prehistoric years.

Peloponnese is mainly mountainous, covered by the mountain range of Mount Taygetos, its highest peak is 2,407m. Two groups of islands lie in the Peloponnese, the Saronic islands to the east and the Ionian islands to the west. The area is dressed with beautiful valleys, the valley of Achaia and Manolada. The climate varies according to the area and the altitude. The geography of Peloponnese is privileged with rivers, mountains, valleys, lush green forests and many other characteristics which make the whole area unique and attractive.

Geography of the Peloponnese

Information about the Geography of some regions of the Peloponnese:

Discover More About Peloponnese


Explore our travel services & make the most out of your GREECE holidays!

Do you Need a Free Travel Quote?

Our team of experienced travel specialists can organize your unforgettable vacation in Greece!

Please send us a request and we will rapidly answer you with a free quote!

Who is Greeka (Licence No: PK-01-7031)
Read Reviews (1233)