The Steam Train of Pelion, in Thessaly: The legendary old steam train of Pelion is popularly known as Moutzouris (smudgy). This train started working in the late 19th century and played a key role in the development of Pelion and the overall region of Thessaly. After it was abandoned in the years that followed the Second World War, a few years ago this train started working again, connection some villages of the area.
The Pelion Steam Train was designed by the Italian engineer Evaristo de Chirico, son of the famous artist Giorgio de Chirico. Its construction began in 1894 and a year later, it started to operate connection Volos town, the capital of the area, to Lehonia village. This section was 13 km long and crossed two bridges, one over Anavros river and the other over Vrihonas river.
In 1903, the railway line reached Milies village, which was 16 km away from Lehonia, thus it then covered a total distance of 29 km. It also crossed 6 arched bridges, five of which were made entirely of stone, whereas the last one was made of iron. Truly a masterpiece, the entire railway line was used to transport goods and people on short day trips. As the years passed and the technology developed, the steam train of Pelion gradually declined.
However, a few years ago, it started to operate again, mostly as a tourist attraction and for sentimental reasons. Now, it departs from Ano Lehonia village, crossed the villages of Agios Athanasios, Agia Triada, Ano Gatzea and Pinakates and arrives in Milies village. With a speed of 25 km/hour, the steam train crosses stone bridges and the breathtaking nature of Pelion, while each railway station presents a great architectural interest.