Churches in Paros
Every corner of Paros is adorned with cute chapels and lovely churches, attractions that create this island's unique profile. Religious sites from 16th the 17th century as well as remains of ancient temples and sanctuaries can be found around the island.
One of the most important Byzantine monuments of Greece is Panagia Ekantontapiliani (Our Lady of the Hundred Gates) located in Parikia, the capital of Paros. Every year, on August 15th thousands of pilgrims, arrive to honor the miraculous icon of the Virgin. Among other post-Byzantine churches in Parikia, you will find Agios Konstantinos, Panagia Septemvriani, Panagia of Stavros, Agios Nikolaos and more. Outside Parikia, you will meet Longovarda monastery, the largest monastery of the island founded in 1638, while a few kilometers away from the capital lies Jesus of the Woods, a beautiful monastery built on top of the hill.
At the north side of Paros, in Naoussa you will see an equal number of churches embellishing the village, the most important being the Church of the Assumption of the Virgin standing at the highest point of Naoussa. Also worth visiting are the churches of Agios Athanasios and Agios Ioannis. In Agios Nikolaos church visitors can admire some of the historical exhibits housed in the Byzantine museum like some icons from the 13th century. On the other side of the village, on top of the rocks lies the beautiful church of Agios Ioannis Detis overlooking the bay of Naoussa. Moving a little further in the village of Lefkes is the noticeable church of Agia Triada.
The Monastery of Panagia Ekatontapiliani (the Virgin Mary of the Hundred Doors) is located near Parikia and is one of the oldest churches in Paros. Tradition has it that the monastery was constructed by the orders of Saint Helene, while she was traveling to the Holy Lands to find the Cross of Jesus Christ.
The little church of Agios Ioannis (Saint John) Detis was built in the 17th century. It is located on the rocky coast of Monastiri, in the bay of Naoussa. The area boasts a superb beach, attracting many visitors for its great beauty.
Agios Konstantinos is a beautiful church located on the seaside of Parikia village, offering, in addition to its beautiful architecture, amazing views over the bay.
Pamegiston Taksiarxon is one of the most photogenic churches in the village of Parikia, characterized by its blue dome and colorful flowers surrounding it.
The monastery of Logovarda is the largest monastery on the island, famous for its attractive and interesting architecture. It also houses a library with rare and valuable manuscripts.
Kimisis Theotokou is the main church of the village of Naoussa and can be seen from the port.
Agios Fokas is a photogenic church located in the bay of Parikia, 5 km away from the capital of the island.
In the village of Lefkes stands the main church of Agia Triada (Holy Trinity), built in 1830. It has been constructed with the fine semi-transparent marble of Paros and is one of the settlement's most charming buildings.
A few kilometers away from Parikia lies the Monastery of Jesus of the Woods, built on top of a hill and offering a splendid view of the island of Antiparos. The convent was built in the 18th century and is actually a nunnery.
In close distance from the small port of Naoussa lies the church of Agios Antonios. Constructed in the traditional style, this church is the protector of all fishermen on Paros.