Ithaca Geography

Ithaca Geography

About the geography of Ithaca island, Greece

Located west of the mainland of Greece, in the Ionian Sea, Ithaca is part of the group of islands called Ionians and is the second smallest inhabited island of the group. Ithaca covers an area of about 95 sq km, with a maximum length of appreciatively 29 km and width of about 7 km and a coastline measuring 100 km.

The two peninsulas which form Ithaca are almost equal and are joined by the isthmus of Aetos (Eagle), which is 620 metres wide. Long and narrow in shape, the island is almost divided in half by the deep bay of Molos.

Ithaca lies at a distance of 2 nautical miles west of Kefalonia Island and the channel separating them is 14 miles long, with a maximum width of 3 miles and a minimum of 1,5 miles. The geography of Ithaca is mountainous and its highest peak is the Homeric Mount Neritos, rising, on the northern part of the island at an altitude of 800 metres, followed by Mount Petaleiko in the south and Mount Exogi, in the north.

The capital is Vathy, located in the south east, which is the capital of Ithaca since the Venetian times. The second largest village is Stavros, situated on the northern part of the island. Ithaca is divided into four districts: Vathy, Aetos, Anogi and Exogi. Administratively, the island of Ithaca is part of the prefecture of Kefalonia.

Share it!  
Related pages
The Community
Our Services
Car rentalFerriesHotelsToursIsland hopping packagesCustomized holiday

Find us on networks


Latest members' photos
Art is everywhere :)
Beautiful lady...
Let\'s swim...
Is the lunch ready :)?
Nice walk
Sea is here :)