It is located over the Kapsohari area, near Batsi.
Nobody knows the exact date when it was built but the oldest writing evidence of its age is the date 1325, on the icon of the Virgin.
The church has a splendid carved wood sanctuary screen and some wall paintings from the 14th and 16th centuries.
A rich library with books and manuscripts, a museum exposing holy vestments and a small collection of prehistoric tools can be admired in this monastery.
The relief on the fountain standing beside the church is a rare example of ecclesiastical art.
Since its renovation in 1928, the monastery has been functioning as a convent.
|| Two wonderful 18th century wall paintings can be admired in the small church of Byzantine order (the katholikon).
In the main church a splendid carved wood icon has been preserved.
The icon of the Panachrantos is standing at the southern door of the Sanctuary, has a silver cover and is surrounded by offerings.
To the left of the icon is the icon and relic of the healer St Panteleimon. They are the pride of the monastery and the entire island.
The Monastery of Tromarchion or Panagia (virgin) Tromarchiani is a well preserved and really beautiful monastery situated in the Steno area. Nobody knows the date of its founding.
It is dedicated to the Dormition of the Virgin. Since it has been built on a steep cliff, it offers a unique view of the south-west part of the island and the sea.
In the monastery's church, one can admire a beautiful woodcut iconostasis and an inscription carved in marble.