Cave of Agios Gerasimos
The Cave of Agios Gerasimos in Kefalonia, Ionian: On a hill above the tourist resort of Lassi, just 3 km from Argostoli, the capital of Kefalonia, visitors can see the Cave of Agios Gerasimos. This is the cave where Agios Gerasimos, the saint protector of the island, lived for five years, leading a strict ascetic life.
Agios Gerasimos, originating from a noble family of northern Peloponnese, became a monk in Mount Athos and after visiting many places around Greece, he ended up in Kefalonia in 1555. He lived in this cave for 5 years, until 1560, when he went to the valley of Omala and rebuilt the Monastery of Panagia. This monastery was later called Monastery of Agios Gerasimos and it is today considered the protector of the island. In fact, on August 16th, on the name day of Agios Gerasimos, the most important religious festival takes place on the island.
The Cave of Agios Gerasimos is very narrow and has a small hole from where you can get a great view over Lassi and the Ionian Sea. Right next to the entrance of the cave, a small church has been built dedicated to the memory of the saint. Holy Masses are officiated in this church mostly on important religious celebrations.