Corfu Geography

Corfu is the second largest island in the Ionian Sea after Kefalonia. Its total land surface area is 588 sq. km, while its coastline stretches for about 217 km and has some of the most beautiful beaches in Greece, with sandy shores and clean water. Corfu also has some rocky coastlines, particularly on the northern side. The rocks and the caves of Paleokastritsa, strongly connected with the local history and mythology, are known for their rugged character. Topography-wise, Corfu is (distinctly) divided into three aspects from north to south by the Pantokrator and Saint Decca (Agioi Deka) ranges.

The northern part of the island is covered with mountains, the central region has valleys and hills at intervals, while the southern region consists of uninterrupted fertile plains. The highest peak on the island is Mount Pantokrator which arises at 911 meters above sea level. Lazareto and Vidos (or Ptychia) are two tiny islands located right at the entrance of the port, between the bays of Corfu and Gouvia.

The geography of Corfu also stands out for two lakes and four rivers. These rivers usually dry up in the summer season but fill in during the winter, as Corfu is the place in Greece with the most rainfall. The soil of Corfu has rich limestone deposits. Due to the abundant rainfall, Corfu has fertile soil, particularly in the north, where the landscape is characterized by large plains of olive oil trees.

Mathraki Island is one of the three Diapontian Islands situated in the north Ionian Sea. The island is tiny and has an area of only three square kilometers. It can be reached by a 45-minute boat ride from the coast of Corfu.
The other two islands of the complex are Ereikoussa and Othoni.

Discover the Map of Corfu
MapView the map of Corfu with the main villages, beaches, and sights, as well as the port and the airport.
View: Map of Corfu