The Jesuit Monastery in Kalamitsia, Naxos: In a walking distance of 2 km from the villages of Melanes, in the region of Kalamitsia, there is a deserted Jesuit Monastery. This monastery, also known as the Jesuit Palace, is surrounded by low hills and olive trees. Constructed in 1673 by the Jesuit monk Roberto Sauze, this monastery was constructed on the ruins of an older Venetian mansion. Its marvelous design, elegance and luxurious style provoked the reactions of the residents that time as this luxury was opposed to the supposedly austere life of the monks.
The first years, this monastery was used as a place of meditation for Jesuit monks, but in the next years it passed into the hands of other Catholic orders. The building has two storeys and many ancillary wings. Although it is totally deserted today, it is kept in relatively good condition. Visitors can see the kitchen, the laundry rooms, stables and cells. As the building has not been restored, special attention is required during the visit.