Acropolis Museum finalist for European prize

Acropolis Museum finalist for European prize

Category: News

Posted by Greeka on 24 Mar 2011

Views: 2139

The New Acropolis Museum in Athens, designed by the architect Bernard Tschumi, is among the top finalists for the European Union Prize in Modern Architecture Mies van der Rohe, the most important distinction for the European architecture, according to the European Committee.

The finalists have been selected among 343 works of 33 European countries. The award ceremony will take place on June 20 in Barcelona, in the exhibition center that was designed by the German architect Mies van der Rohe. The other five finalists are the New Museum of Berlin (David Chiperfield), Bronks Youth Theatre (Martine de Meseneer and Dreak Fan de Brande) the Museum of the 21st Century Art in Rome (Zaxa Xadide, Patrick Soumaher, Gianlouka Rakana), the Concert Hall in Copenhagen (Zan Nouvel) and the Rehabilitation Centre in Arnhem Holland (Koen Fan Felzen).

The Mies van der Rohe Prize is being awarded since 1987 every two years and it was founded by the Culture program of European Union and the Mies van der Rohe Institution.

Share it!  

View more news and events in Athens

Rate and Comment
Do you like our website? Make it better with your rate and comment! with your email, Facebook or Twitter account!
no avatar
Rate it!:
Thanks for your rating!
The Community
Our Services
Car rentalFerriesHotelsToursIsland hopping packagesCustomized holiday

Other social networks


Be the first to get news and special offers!