Samos Reviews - Page 1

Here is our section with reviews of Samos. People who have actually visited Samos write about their holiday experiences, what they did and saw there, their activities, where they stayed and give advice on things to do and to avoid.

You have also visited Samos? If you want to write a review about Samos in our website, you first have to sign in (free) our community or just log in your account, if you are already a member. Before getting published, reviews have to be approved by our editing department. Any review with abusive or inappropriate language will not be published.

Share it!  

Write review
1-10 of 30 Samos reviews
Average 4/5 based on 30 ratings out of 30 reviews.

patras

A place for all
5 / 5 stars Rate:
   

Posted by on

Category: Samos General


No matter how many words I'll write about Samos, they will not be able to describe its endless beauty and our surprise to discover such a green island. An island for all...

High mountains, green forests, crowded beaches and villages where the nightlife finds its place or quiet places where nothing will disturb you. Limnionas village is one of them. Even if in the beginning, we had the feeling of a village from the end of the world, Limnionas was the best place for us. Small and silent village, few taverns, one really mini market right across the road, a beautiful beach, an amazing view over the bay were enough for a good holiday.

Well, we had no TV, no internet, no public phone (there is one in the village, but I believe they keep it as a museum piece) and the cell phone network was present just from time to time, enough to forget that we have such a device. But in the end, these were part of the local charm.

Ioanna Studios are a very good choice. Surrounded by flowers that Ioanna cares with love, our apartment was spacious and tastefully furnished. Fully equipped kitchen. A terrace full of flowers allows you to admire the bay and the sea view. Large parking place. And again, amazing flowers in the yard. An apartment for a very good price. But, above all, is Ioanna. Wonderful woman, always helpful, always present to give you an advice or to answer to your questions with a friendly smile, it's enough to see her and start a pleasant day.

Living in Limnionas, you will need a car to discover the island. There are small and large villages situated along the coast or in the hills, large or hidden small beaches with blue green waters, each has its charm, try to find as many you can. Kambos Marathokambou, at 5km, is a large village with mini markets, many taverns and bars, souvenir shops and a large beach. The best place where you can eat here for an incredible low price is Nostos Tavern, where Nikos will be always there to help you and offer his friendship.

There are two Psili Ammos beaches on the island. One is near Vathi, maybe the only sandy beach on the island but surely the most crowded. It has so many sun beds and umbrellas that we couldn't see the sand and sea. It's a good option for kids. The other Psili Ammos beach, near Kambos, large and more quiet, is a mixture of sand and small pebbles and worth the effort to find it.

Posidonio, a small and very quiet village, good taverns, nice beach, crystal waters, a break for Turkish trips. Mourtia, nice beach with a wonderful view but not even a place to buy a bottle of water. Tsamadou, hidden behind a cool forest, it's divided into two parts: a part is a naturist beach and a part is for more or less dressed people... After Tsamadou, you'll find Lemonakia and Tsambou. Potami, large and beautiful pebble beach with the Church of Agios Nikolaos, the white silhouette on the hill. Kokkari and its beach, Samos and Vathi, Pythagorio with the Eupalinos Tunnel and Hera's Temple, Karlovassi... all of them are famous, you will find them easy and all of them deserve your time.

There are at least 3 less known places that you must see: Manolates, a village like a ceramic museum, perched on the mountain. Don't forget to buy a souvenir, you will not find another place as Manolates on the island. Kallithea and its wonderful sunset. An amazing view of Fourni and Ikaria will complete the joy to be there and the beauty of the moment. Be careful and leave your car outside of the village or you'll spend your sunset stuck with the car on narrow streets, moving chairs and flowers to find a way to escape. The End Of The World Taverna, at 3km from Limnionas, has an astonishing view over the sea but you need a four-wheel drive vehicle to find it and a lot of courage to drive.


vasia
vasia wrote on Jul 16, 2010

sounds like you had a great holiday :)

patras
patras wrote on Jul 16, 2010

to be honest, I was positively surprised by 2 things. First, I have read that Samos is a green island but I didn't expect such an explosion of vegetation, forests and flowers all over. Second, I knew that Samos is an island with many tourists and very busy, but perhaps because it was June or crisis or both, their number was acceptable. These two things and few more led to a great holiday :)

alekosi
alekosi wrote on Jul 18, 2010

Thanks for the wonderfull review.
to read this is the best for a men who lose his heart to this green pearl of the Δgaeis in the year 1991.You have a very nice thinking and i'm glad for you that a nice time on my second home and i hope this Iland will see you again.

lagreca
lagreca wrote on Aug 11, 2010

an ode to Samos... :)

cristibolo
cristibolo wrote on Jun 13, 2011

I enjoied your review very much, Felicia! It is useful and pleasant to read your lines. My longing for Samos is growing more and more! :)

no avatar
eriously wrote on May 08, 2013

What a great review of my favourite island, I will return one day.


no avatar

See as much possible
4 / 5 stars Rate:
   

Posted by on

Category: Samos General


This was my first trip to Samosand I was completely bowled over by the rich history, beautiful landscapes and fine beaches of the island. I promised I would be back next summer to see more of this fabulous island. In order to explore as much as possible during my week's stay in Samos, I rented a small car, a chevrolet Matiz and was quite pleased with my choice when I had to negotiate some of the narrow hillside roads. The island abounds in car rental agencies, and this is an ideal way to get around helped by the fact that the signposts are all in English. It cost me 120 euros for 4 days and the best part of the deal was I could drop off of the car at the airport.

I visited some of the important monasteries and churches the island is famous for. The monastery of Panagia Spiliani is amazing, with a nice cavern where a holy icon was found. Samos is also known for its nightlife. The discos of Pythagorion (where I stayed) are open late into the night and they offer a mix of popular Greek and international music. If you are up for some live Greek music, you must visit some local panigiria, such as the wine festival in August. The beaches in Samos are some of the most beautiful I have ever seen. Surrounded by lush vegetation or hills dotted with olive groves, the deep blue water of the Aegean are best for sunbathing, swimming and windsurfing.



no avatar

Lovely panigiria and strong wine
4 / 5 stars Rate:
   

Posted by on

Category: Samos General


Slices of history, tradition, sun and fun. That about sums up my experience of Samos, an incredibly beautiful island with its fabulous beaches and endless vineyards in the inland.

I got to experience the best of Samos nightlife in the beach bars and the panigiria of the island. In fact, we attented a panigiri to Prophet Elijah (end July) and a wine festival in a small village near Samos Town: both wonderful and very social experiences. It is nice how small villages in the islands have so strong community bonds and seem like a family all together.

Families in Greece are large and include members of third or fourth generation. My cousin has married a Greek guy, they live in Patras and I have heard a lot about how they spend their holidays and feasts all together.

In Samos, people are friendly, too. Never had a problem to communicate with anyone, even if the other person didn't speak English. Gestures do miracles, you know! For the food, try two things: fresh fish in Kokkari and local wine. I was told that the wine of Samos is the best in Greece. Indeed, it is very sweet and very strong, too!



no avatar

Walk in forests
4 / 5 stars Rate:
   

Posted by on

Category: Samos General


Samos is a big island, so you'd better rent a car and see it all. I say no need to rent a car for your whole stay, just 3 days are enough, and then choose a nice beach hotel to spend the rest of your holidays.

We stayed in the small village of Pythagorio on the south of Samos and it turned a lovely place to hang out. Not a busy resort, but a small summer village with family hotels and a sandy beach for chilly mornings. The beach had many umbrellas and usually it didn't very crowded. Bars and taverns were plenty in Pythagorio, but I think prices were better than on the northern coast of Samos.

The first thing to impress me in Samos was the forests. I was used to the arid and rocky Cycladic islands, so Samos hit me as a small paradise in the inland. There are small forests and mountainsides and beautiful waterfalls. The area near Marathokambos is lush green and you will see many churches and houses here and there, along your way. Walk in the forests and climb up the hills and you will feel refreshed.



no avatar

Join festivals and beach parties
4 / 5 stars Rate:
   

Posted by on

Category: Samos General


In Samos, we stayed at a sea facing hotel in Kokkari village. The entire village is surrounded by lush green vegetation. There are plenty of olive plantations, pine trees and vineyards. The white washed houses and the narrow alleys running all around the village render an old world atmosphere. The seafront restaurants are a favourite place for the locals and the tourists. We used to have a hard time finding a place for ourselves over here. Obviously, there are very crowded in August. People seemed to enjoy the various sides of nature both in the inland and the beaches.

Samos has such a laid-back atmosphere. We rented a car to tour the various sights and historical places on the island. In the inland, we found such lovely greenery and many waterfalls.

Vathy, the capital, gets quite busy in the day but in the night, it is a great nightlife spot. In the popular beaches, there are also many beach bars that stay open till late at night. People seem to have much fun there and the music is loud. A few meters further, the music fades out and if you have a night swim, you will experience a very romantic scene under the moonlight. In Samos, we were lucky enough to join a wine festival in Pythagorio. The Greeks know well to have fun!



no avatar

Small islets and wine festival
4 / 5 stars Rate:
   

Posted by on

Category: Samos General


What most people don't know about Samos is that there are many small islets nearby, easy reachable with boats. Actually there is a group of more than ten islets, between Samosand Ikaria, but among them, only two are inhabited.

We visited Fourni, as we thought it was the most populated one. The houses and shops are all gathered around the port, with small family run hotels and restaurants, most of them with fresh fish dishes.

Another islet we discovered was Samiopoula, easy reachable from the port Limanaki. In Samiopoula, there is a wonderful sandy beach, called Psalida. The beach is not that big and unfortunately it gets easily crowded in midday in August.

Samos is very famous for the sweet wine, made on the island. Don't forget to try it, it is delicious! There is also a wine festival in Vathy of Samos, lasting for 5 days. It was August when we were there, not sure about the exact dates, but I guess festivals are not hard to find in Greek islands.

During the wine festival, locals offer all varieties of the local wine, especially the famous sweet wine. Traditional music and dancing is an unseperable part of a Greek panigiri.



no avatar

Already miss my vacations
5 / 5 stars Rate:
   

Posted by on

Category: Samos General


Samos is blessed with exotic landscape and abundant vegetation. The lush green mountains, the smell of wines and the mystery of the ancient sites render a unique appeal to this Greek island. We stayed at a resort in the capital town Vathy. The town is filled with Venetian style buildings. Due to the development of tourism infrastructure on Samos, there are a lot of modern buildings also. We visited the Heraion Santuary and the Tunnel of Eupanilus, but it looked too dark, I think you should put more lights there because it may be dangerous. Nightlife in Vathy is extremely addictive. There are a number of music clubs and discos that attract the locals and tourists. Good music and drinks really helped us to unwind after a long day of sightseeing. God, I miss those vacations!



no avatar

Protect it from fires
4 / 5 stars Rate:
   

Posted by on

Category: Samos General


Samos was actually our last minute choice as we couldn't find ferry tickets to Ikaria. However, we don't regret it because we indeed had a great time! Beaches were wonderful and very clean. Lemonakia and Tsamadou were crowded but you can still find excellent quiet beaches on the northern side. We had the best meals in Kokkari in a tavern by the water. I suggest you stay in Pythagorion or Heraion which are less developped and prices are better.

Samos is surprisingly green and you will discover many hidden secrets if you rent a car for a couple of days to explore it. You run by chance onto a sign leading to the Cave of Pythagoras and it was a special experience to trek the narrow path up to the cave and enjoy the view from there. There are no castles or museums on Samos, the top is the beaches and the green nature. Walking in the forests is much pleasurable in the middle of a hot summer. Protect Samos from fires because it would be a really pity to destroy such a beautiful island.


alekosi
alekosi wrote on Jul 18, 2010

Hello Mark
Thanks for your apell to protect for fire!
I go over 20years to Samos and I have see what the big Fire from the year 2000 makes makes problems for the Iland.I hope for Samos that so a bad thing is coming again.Greatings to you from Austria


no avatar

Get a greener attitude
4 / 5 stars Rate:
   

Posted by on

Category: Samos General


We recommend visitors to use Karlovassi on Samos as home base instead of Samos Town or Kokkari, it is far more "Greek" in culture. All beaches on Samoswere nice, all without any exception. My favourite was Lemonakia, although my husband prefered other beaches more quiet. All the food was also exceptional. Our first experience was sharing our table with the owner, who regaled us with stories of his life in Samos and Canada... interesting that the waiters disappear when you want to pay and leave! Our little Hotel Erata was perfect and only 40 euros a night!

The only thing that Greece needs is to get caught with a greener attitude. There are far many lacks in trash disposal. Also clean the beaches from cigarette ends and abandon smoking in public places. I heard there is a recent law that abandons smoking in interior areas, but it didn't seem to work. What about th exterior areas, when the smoke from the next table comes to you??



no avatar

Villa Litsa Kervelli Bay
3 / 5 stars Rate:
   

Posted by on

Category: Samos General


My friends and I booked the Villa Litsa in Kervelli Bay, Samos for a week in July 2009. The Villa was lovely. However, I had emailed the owner to ask if it had hills or steps to it as I am in a wheelchair with limited mobility. The reply was that I should refer to the web site. Nowhere did it mention steps or hills so we booked with confidence. However, the villa was located up a steep hill and up some steps!!! My poor friends had to push me up this hill every time we went to the beach and it wasn't pleasant for either of us. We were limited to one taverna on the beach which has a very limited menu and disappointing food. It closed at 10pm and even earlier!!! (We were told that there were three tavernas) One had been turned into a mini-market and the other was closed. We did eat at the Kervelli Bay Hotel on a couple of occassions and although it was ok, it was very expensive. We took a taxi into Pythagoria a couple of times, which cost us 40Euros each time, and we went to Samos town, to find that it was half day closing. Our own fault, agreed but again disappointing. Kervelli Bay is ideal for a day out. However, the bit of the beach with shade is crowded with occupants from the mainly German hotel behind and the rest is absolutely open to the scorching heat. Do not go here if you have mobility problems and definitely don't go if you have no transport. We learn by our mistakes!!



rss feed
Featured Hotels
Princessa Riviera Resort
The Community
39979
members
136043
photos
Our Services
Car rentalFerriesHotelsToursIsland hopping packagesCustomized holiday


Other social networks

Newsletter

Be the first to get news and special offers!



Latest members' photos
Church halfway to Pythagoras's cave.
Votsalakia.
View of Votsolakia and Villa Jota
View of Kerkis in the distance from Koumeika village.
Wife relaxing at Villa Jota.
Old lady in Koumeika village, Samos finding shade.